»I should probably read more books« Jonas Alaska sound so.

jonas-alaska-younger-press-5-credits-jesper-spanning-kleiner

2017 beginnt mit einem Blick in den Rückspiegel, auf die Rückbank – In the Backseat mit Jonas Alaska. Der 28jährige Singer-Songwriter stammt nicht aus Alaska, aber aus ebenso kalten Gefilden; aus Norwegen. Dort ist er mit seinen drei Alben Jonas Alaska (2011),  If only as a ghost (2013) und Younger (2015) längst bekannt. Letztens war Jonas Alaska in Berlin, im Auster Club. Meine Fragen beantwortete er vor dem Konzert spontan per E-Mail. Seine Musik klingt nicht nach kalt, sie klingt nach warm, nach Umherhüpfen, nach Kopfwippen, nach Füßewackeln. Nach beschwingt in ein neues Jahr tanzen. Nach sich selbst nahe sein: In the backseat, you can find out who you are…

schreibstation: Why do you make music?

Jonas Alaska: Because I like doing it. I’ve always liked music and I’ve always liked creating things.

schreibstation: Do you write the lyrics yourself?

Jonas Alaska: Yes, I write them myself.

schreibstation: What make great lyrics for you?

Jonas Alaska: When people find a new angle to a common theme. And I like people who are good with hidden rhymes and stuff like that.

schreibstation: How do you come up with the lyrics?

Jonas Alaska: In different ways. It’s usually when I see a different angle to something I’ve been thinking about for a while. I write down new words and sayings when I hear them in movies and series. The best lyrics just show up out of nowhere though.

schreibstation: What is the importance of lyrics in your music?

Jonas Alaska: I think it is very important. And I like that it is a big part of my act but I need good chords and melodies for the lyrics to work.

schreibstation: Does literature influence your writing?

Jonas Alaska: It does, to some degree I think. I’m reading Madame Bovary by Flaubert at the moment, not sure if there is gonna come any song from that. But I’m sure reading books expands my imagination. I should probably read more books.

schreibstation: What is the story behind In the Backseat?

Jonas Alaska: I wrote it when I was living in Liverpool. The chorus just popped into my head and I wrote the verses around that. I’ve always, since I was a child, liked sitting in the backseat of a car and collect my thoughts. It’s the perfect place to do that.

schreibstation: Is there a favourite line in the song?

Jonas Alaska: It’s a long time since I wrote it so it’s hard to remember what I was thinking but I kind of like the second verse with the liars, the losers and everyone playing in bands.

In the Backseat – reinhören und rauslesen:

I’ve been a lot to the movies lately
The last one ruined my heart
I saw the world go down and under,
Everything just fell apart

But in the backseat,
In the backseat of the car
What a place to think things through
In the backseat,
You can find out who you are,
And decide what you should do

When a horrible night is over,
And I’ve got dirt on my hands
I’m so sick of the liars,
The losers and everyone playing in band

But in the backseat,
In the backseat of the car
What a place to think things through
In the backseat,
You can find out who you are,
And decide what you should do

Oooh, oh, oh, oh, oooooooh
Oooh, oh, oh, oh

Been alone for a long, long time now
I’ve been sleeping all day
I’ve been sitting on my bed
Alone without anything good to say

But in the backseat,
In the backseat of the car
What a place to think things through
In the backseat,
You can find out who you are,
And decide what you should do

Foto: Jesper Spanning

Kommentar verfassen

